Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right close

PC Alberta

> Canada > Parties > PC Alberta
PC Alberta is ready for your opinion, support and vote. Vote online NOW!
photo  PC Alberta

PC Alberta - for

The Progressive Conservative Association (Party) of Alberta | L'Association progressiste-conservateur de l'Alberta
 NO! PC Alberta

PC Alberta - against

Click, if you do not support the Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta (PC Alberta). Say why. / Cliquez, si vous ne soutenez pas ce candidat. Dire pourquoi.

Online election results for "PC Alberta" in graph.

> PC Alberta >


[+] ADD



The Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta (often referred to colloquially as Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta) is a provincial centre-right party in the Canadian province of Alberta. The party has formed the provincial government, without interruption, since 1971 under premiers Peter Lougheed (1971–1985), Don Getty (1985–1992), Ralph Klein (1992–2006), Ed Stelmach (2006–2011) and Alison Redford (2011–present). As of 2012, this is the third-longest unbroken run in government at the provincial level in Canadian history, behind their Ontario counterparts' 42-year run from 1943 to 1985, and the Nova Scotia Liberals' 43 years from 1882 to 1925.


The party under Redford

On January 25, 2011, Stelmach announced his intention to step down as party leader and Premier prior to the next provincial election as a result of a dispute with his finance minister, Ted Morton, over the provincial budget.Stelmach formally resigned in September 2011. Justice Minister Alison Redford won the following leadership contest on October 2, 2011, and was sworn in as Premier on October 7, 2011, becoming Alberta's first female Premier.


Most polls from 2011 onward showed the PCs losing badly to the Wildrose. However, Redford defied expectations by leading the PCs to a 12th consecutive majority government in the 2012 provincial election. The PCs won 61 seats, a loss of only five. If the Alberta PC government is still sitting on September 4, 2014, they will break the record for longest-serving government currently held by the Nova Scotia Liberals and become the longest-serving provincial government in Canadian history.


Leader: Alison Redford

President: Jim McCormick

Founded: September 1, 1905

Ideology: Canadian Conservatism, Fiscal Conservatism, Social Progressivism, Progressive conservatism Red Toryism, Economic liberalism







L'Association progressiste-conservateur de l'Alberta (en anglais Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta) est un parti politique provincial de centre-droite dans la province canadienne de l'Alberta. Le parti a formé le gouvernement provincial sans interruption depuis 1971, d'abord sous la direction de Peter Lougheed (1971-1985), puis de Don Getty (1985-1992), de Ralph Klein (1992-2006), d'Ed Stelmach 2006-2011 et d'Alison Redford depuis octobre 20. 1.


Fondation: 1905

Chef: Alison Redford

Idéologie politique: Conservatisme



February 25, 2010

updated: 2012-11-28

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site.

If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

pcalberta, olds progressive conservative and more...
load menu