Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right

Details TDP

> India > Parties > Telugu Desam Party
తెలుగుదేశం పార్టీ | Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is a regional political party in the South Indian state of Andhra Pradesh.





తెలుగుదేశం పార్టీ లేదా TDP భారతదేశంలోని ఆంధ్ర ప్రదేశ్ రాష్ఠ్రానికి చెందిన ఒక ప్రాంతీయ రాజకీయ పార్టీ. తెలుగుదేశం పార్టీని ప్రముఖ తెలుగు సినిమా నటుడు నందమూరి తారక రామారావు 1982, మార్చి 29న ప్రారంభించాడు. అప్పటివరకు రాష్ట్రాన్ని ఏకపక్షముగా పాలిస్తున్న కాంగ్రేసు పార్టీకి ప్రత్యమ్నాయముగా ఒక ప్రాంతీయ పార్టీ ఉండాలనే ఆశయముతో స్థాపించాడు. పార్టీ స్థాపించిన తరువాత సన్యాసము పుచ్చుకొని తన జీవితము తెలుగు ప్రజలకు, తెలుగు జాతి ఆత్మగౌరవ పునరుద్ధరణకే తన జీవితము అంకితమని ప్రతినబూనాడు.


13వ లోక్‌సభ (1999-2004) లో 29 మంది సభ్యులతో నాలుగవ పెద్ద పార్టీగా నిలచినది.


నాయకత్వము     చంద్రబాబు నాయుడు

స్థాపితము     మార్చి 29, 1982







Telugu Desam Party (Telugu: తెలుగు దేశం పార్టీ) (lit. Party for Telugu Land and People), abbreviated as TDP, is a regional political party in the South Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. The party was founded by Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao ("NTR") on 29 March 1982. Since 1995, the party is headed by Nara Chandrababu Naidu, the incumbent Leader of Opposition in the Andhra Pradesh State Assembly. The party's headquarters is located at NTR Bhavan in the Banjara Hills locality of Hyderabad.


The party stormed to power within nine months of its formation in the 1983 Assembly elections, thus forming the first non-Congress government in Andhra Pradesh. It also achieved the rare distinction of being the first regional party to become the main opposition party in the Central Government during the 8th Lok Sabha from 1984 to 1989. The party has governed the state of Andhra Pradesh twice from 1983 to 1989 and then from 1994 to 2004.


Leader: Nara Chandrababu Naidu

Founder: Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao

Leader in Lok Sabha: Nama Nageswara Rao

Leader in Rajya Sabha: Tulla Devender Goud

Founded: 29 March 1982

Ideology: Populist, Regionalist, Social liberalist



18th November 09

updated: 2013-05-06

icon Telugu Desam Party
icon Telugu Desam Party

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site. If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

load menu