Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right

Details Piratpartiet

> Sweden > Parties > Piratpartiet
 Piratpartiet  Piratpartiet
Piratpartiet är ett svenskt politiskt parti som bildades under ledning av Rickard Falkvinge. | The Pirate Party is a political party in Sweden.





Piratpartiet (förkortning: PP) är ett svenskt politiskt parti som bildades under ledning av Rickard Falkvinge i januari 2006. Partiet står för personlig integritet, fri kultur och begränsning av upphovsrätt och patent. Partiet tog till en början inte ställning i andra frågor, men började under 2012 att bredda sig till andra politiska områden.


Partiet ställde upp i riksdagsvalet i Sverige 2006, vari det erhöll 0,63 procent av rösterna. Piratpartiet fick uppmärksamhet i media i samband med debatten om FRA-lagen, Ipred-lagen och Pirate Bay-målet. I Europaparlamentsvalet 2009 fick partiet ett mandat i parlamentet; dessutom fick partiet ytterligare ett mandat 2011 när parlamentets totala antal mandat utökades från 736 till 751. Piratpartiet har sitt starkaste väljarstöd bland män, framförallt i åldersgruppen 18–29 år.


Partiledare: Anna Troberg

Grundat: 1 januari 2006

Politisk ideologi: Kritik av vissa immaterialrätter. Stärkt personlig integritet.







The Pirate Party (Swedish: Piratpartiet) is a political party in Sweden founded in 2006. Its sudden popularity has given rise to parties with the same name and similar goals in Europe and worldwide, forming the International Pirate Party movement.


The Pirate Party was initially formed to reform laws regarding copyright and patents. The party's agenda includes support for strengthening the individual's right to privacy, both on the Internet and in everyday life, and the transparency of state administration. The Pirate Party has intentionally chosen to be bloc independent of the traditional left-right scale to pursue their political agenda with all mainstream parties. The party originally stayed neutral on other matters, but started broadening into other political areas in 2012.


The Pirate Party participated in the 2006 Riksdag elections and gained 0.63% of the votes making them the third largest party outside parliament, where a minimum of 4% is required. In terms of membership, it passed the Green Party in December 2008, the Left Party in February 2009, the Liberal People's Party and the Christian Democrats in April 2009, and the Centre Party in May 2009, making it, for the time being, the third largest political party in Sweden by membership. The Pirate Party's associated youth organisation, Young Pirate (Swedish: Ung Pirat), was, for a part of 2009 and 2010, the largest political youth organisation in Sweden by membership count.


The Pirate Party received 7.13% of the total Swedish votes in the 2009 European Parliament elections, which was originally to result in one seat in the European parliament, but became two when the Lisbon Treaty was ratified. Christian Engström became the first MEP for the party, and Amelia Andersdotter took the second seat after the ratification of the Lisbon Treaty on 1 December 2009.


Rick Falkvinge, founder of the party, stepped down on 1 January 2011 after five years as party leader, making vice leader Anna Troberg the current party leader.


Leader: Anna Troberg

Secretary-General: Jan Lindgren

Founded: 1 January 2006

Youth wing: Young Pirate

Ideology:Pirate politics, Freedom of information



June 22, 2010

updated: 2013-05-20

icon Piratpartiet
icon Piratpartiet

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site. If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

load menu