Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right

Biography Lawrence Springborg

> Australia > Politicians > Liberal National Party of Queensland > Lawrence Springborg
Lawrence Springborg Lawrence Springborg
Lawrence Springborg
An Australian politician. The Minister for Health of Queensland since 2012.


Lawrence Springborg Biography



Lawrence James Springborg (born 17 February 1968) is an Australian politician who was sworn in as Queensland's Minister for Health on 3 April 2012 and is a former Leader and Deputy Leader of the Opposition in Queensland.


As Leader of the Opposition, he led the National Party to defeats at both the 2004 and 2006 Queensland elections. He resigned as leader after his second election defeat, and was replaced by his former deputy, Jeff Seeney. However, after only 16 months as leader and facing poor opinion polling against Seeney, Springborg replaced him.


He played a part in the creation of the Liberal National Party, but led it to defeat at the 2009 Queensland election. On 2 April 2009, John-Paul Langbroek was elected as his successor as the Leader of the Opposition in Queensland. Springborg was then elected Deputy Leader by fellow party members. Springborg's deputy leadership ended in early 2011.


Political career

In the 1989 Queensland state election, Springborg became the youngest person elected to the Parliament of Queensland, winning the safe Nationals seat of Carnarvon, on the Darling Downs. In 1998, shortly before the Borbidge government lost office, Springborg was sworn in as Minister for Natural Resources, again setting a record as Queensland's youngest ever minister.


The 2001 state elections saw a massive win for the Labor Party, with Premier Peter Beattie going from a one-seat to twenty-two seat majority, and the Nationals reduced to 12 seats out of the 89-seat Parliament. After the election loss, the Coalition with the Liberals was ended and Springborg was elected Deputy Opposition Leader. In the wake of his second election defeat, he announced his resignation as leader of the National Party on 14 September 2006. His former deputy, Jeff Seeney ascended to the leadership position uncontested on 18 September 2006, alongside Maroochydore representative Fiona Simpson as Deputy Leader.


After Deputy Fiona Simpson withdrew her support for current leader Jeff Seeney, he announced a partyroom challenge to take place on 21 January 2008, with former leader Springborg the front runner. Springborg won the challenge and began renewed talks of a merger to form a single 'non-Labor force' in Queensland. On 26 July 2008 this became reality when both parties voted to form the Liberal National Party of Queensland. Springborg led the LNP into the 2009 Queensland election; despite opinion polls predicting a close contest the ALP led by Anna Bligh retained government.


Springborg resigned as deputy leader on 22 March 2011, after Brisbane Lord Mayor Campbell Newman announced he was launching a challenge for the LNP leadership.



September 16, 2010

updated: 2013-07-26

icon Lawrence Springborg
icon Lawrence Springborg
icon Lawrence Springborg
icon Lawrence Springborg
icon Lawrence Springborg
icon Lawrence Springborg

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site. If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

load menu