Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right

Details Comhaontas Glas

> Ireland > Parties > Comhaontas Glas
 Comhaontas Glas  Comhaontas Glas
 Comhaontas Glas
An Comhaontas Glas is é an páirtí polaitiúil glas na hÉireann. | The Green Party is a green political party in Ireland.


Comhaontas Glas



Is é an Comhaontas Glas (Béarla: The Green Party) páirtí polaitiúil glas na hÉireann. Bunaíodh i mBaile Átha Cliath sa bhliain 1981 é faoin ainm Páirtí Éiceolaíochta na hÉireann (Ecology Party of Ireland as Béarla), ach athraíodh an t-ainm go The Green Party/An Comhaontas Glas sa bhliain 1987. Tháinig fás suntasach ar na Glasaigh mar a ghlaoitear orthu, agus sa lá atá inniu ann tá ionadaithe acu ar gach leibhéal rialtais in Éirinn agus san Eoraip. Chomh maith leis sin, tá cónaidhm comhoibrithe speisialta acu le Páirtí Glas Thuaisceart Éireann ó 2006. Cuid de ghluaiseacht idirnáisiúnta na nGlasach é an Comhaontas Glas. Tá eagraíocht óige bainteach leis an bpáirtí chomh maith, mar atá, Óige Ghlas.


Ceannasaíocht: Éamon Ryan

Bunaithe: 1981

Idé-eolaíocht: Páirtí polaitiúil glas







The Green Party (Irish: Comhaontas Glas) is a Green political party in Ireland. It was founded as the Ecology Party of Ireland in 1981 by Dublin teacher Christopher Fettes. The party became the Green Alliance in 1983 and in 1987 was renamed to its current title in English. Its leader is Eamon Ryan, Deputy Leader Catherine Martin and chairman Roderic O'Gorman.


Green Party candidates have been elected to all levels of representation; local, Dáil and European Parliament, and in 2007 the party gained its first representation in the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Northern Ireland party having become a region of the Irish party in the previous year.


The Greens became part of the Irish government for the first time following the Irish general election, 2007, having agreed upon a programme for government in coalition with Fianna Fáil and the Progressive Democrats. In the wake of the Irish financial crisis, the party came under pressure to withdraw its support for the administration. Party leader John Gormley called publicly in November 2010 for a general election in the state to be fixed by the latter half of January 2011, allowing time for the Oireachtas to pass legislation for European Union and International Monetary Fund financial support for Ireland; the date of the election was eventually set for March 2011. With further postponements threatened by Fianna Fáil, and increasingly dissatisfied with their larger coalition partner, the party announced its withdrawal from government on 23 January 2011. This brought forward the election date to 25 February 2011; in the process, all six Green Party TDs lost their seats. Following the 2011 Seanad Éireann election, the party no longer has any representatives in the Oireachtas. It has one representative in the Northern Ireland Assembly.


Leader: Eamon Ryan

Chairman: Roderic O'Gorman

Deputy leader: Catherine Martin

Northern Ireland Assembly leader: Steven Agnew, MLA

Founded: 1981

Youth wing: Young Greens

Ideology: Green politics




updated: 2013-03-20

icon Comhaontas Glas
icon Comhaontas Glas

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site. If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

load menu