Politicians and Election, Vote in Freedom, Actively Participate in Democracy, Vote for Change, Online referendum
left right

Details BJP

> India > Parties > Bharatiya Janata Party
भारतीय जनता पार्टी | The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) (lit. Indian People's Party) is one of the two major parties in India.





भारतीय जनता पार्टी भारत का एक राष्ट्रवादी राजनैतिक दल है। इस दल की स्थापना ६ अप्रैल १९८० में हुई थी। इस दल के वर्तमान अध्यक्ष राजनाथ सिंह है। भारतीय जनता युवा मोर्चा इस दल का युवा संगठन है। २००४ के संसदीय चुनाव में इस दल को ८५ ८६६ ५९३ मत (२२%, १३८ सीटें) मिले थे। भाजपा का मुखपत्र कमल संदेश है, जिसके संपादक प्रभात झा हैं।


दल अध्यक्ष     राजनाथ सिंह

महासचिव     अरूण जेटली

संसदीय दल अध्यक्ष     लालकृष्ण आडवाणी

नेता लोकसभा     सुषमा स्वराज (विपक्ष)

नेता राज्यसभा     अरूण जेटली (विपक्ष)

गठन     1980

विचारधारा     हिंदुत्व हिन्दु राष्ट्रवाद आर्थिक उदारीकरण अखंड मानवतावाद







The Bharatiya Janata Party (translation: Indian People's Party; abbreviated BJP) is one of the two major parties in the Indian political system, the other being the Indian National Congress. Established in 1980, it is India's second largest political party in terms of representation in the parliament and in the various state assemblies.


The Bharatiya Janata Party designates its official ideology and central philosophy to be "integral humanism", based upon a 1965 book by Deendayal Upadhyaya. The party advocates Hindu nationalism and social conservatism, self-reliance as outlined by the Swadeshi movement, and a foreign policy centred around key nationalist principles. The party's platform is generally considered to the right-wing of the Indian political spectrum.


The BJP led the national government along with a coalition of parties of the NDA from 1998 to 2004, with Atal Bihari Vajpayee as Prime Minister, thus making it the first non-Congress government to last a full term in office. Since its election defeat in the 2004 general elections, the BJP has been pivotal amongst the opposition parties in parliament.


Chairperson: Rajnath Singh

Parliamentary Chairperson: L.K.Advani

Leader in Lok Sabha: Sushma Swaraj (Leader of Opposition)

Leader in Rajya Sabha: Arun Jaitley (Leader of Opposition)

Founded: December 1980

Preceded by: Bharatiya Jana Sangh

Newspaper: Kamal Sandesh

Youth wing: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha

Women's wing: BJP Mahila Morcha

Peasant's wing: Bharatiya Kisan Sangh

Ideology: Integral humanism (official), Hindu nationalism (Hindutva), Social conservatism



18th November 09

updated: 2013-05-06

icon Bharatiya Janata Party
icon Bharatiya Janata Party
icon Bharatiya Janata Party
icon Bharatiya Janata Party
icon Bharatiya Janata Party
icon Bharatiya Janata Party

ElectionsMeter is not responsible for the content of the text. Please refer always to the author. Every text published on ElectionsMeter should include original name of the author and reference to the original source. Users are obliged to follow notice of copyright infringement. Please read carefully policy of the site. If the text contains an error, incorrect information, you want to fix it, or even you would like to mange fully the content of the profile, please contact us. contact us..

load menu